Personal tools
Log in


April 2009 Achievements


The following faculty have been awarded places in the highly competitive NYU Faculty Resource Network's Summer Institutes at NYU:

Elaine Padilla, PhD, Professor, Social Sciences: Recent Immigrant Settlement in the USA and Its Consequences

Cathy Roche, Associate Professor, Office Technology: New Technologies for Teaching and Learning

Nahed Salama, PhD, Professor of Science: Introduction to HIV Drug Design

Christina Stern: Recent Immigrant Settlement in the USA and Its Consequences


Shamika Mitchell, Instructor, English, has been awarded University Associate status for the next academic year which will allow her to use the educational facilities at NYU and work with faculty members who might assist her in her research.


John Marra, Coordinator of Student Activities and Volunteer Services, received the Adult Volunteer Service Award of Rockland County from the Rockland County Youth Bureau. He won this award for being the facilitator for 14 years for the organization E.P.I.C. (Every Person Influences Children). He will receive the award at the Rockland County Youth Bureau dinner on May 21 (Terrace on the Hudson in Haverstraw).

Trustee Sonya Shapiro, EdD, and her husband, Milton Shapiro, received Community Service Awards from the Martin Luther King Center (April 18).

Elaine M. Toia, PhD, Professor, English, has been selected as the 2009 recipient of the Elena Lucrezia Cornaro Award given by the New York State Grand Lodge, Order Sons of Italy in America. The Cornaro Award was established in 1978 following the 300th anniversary commemoration of the conferral of a doctorate for the first time to a woman. The Grand Lodge initiated this award to recognize outstanding Italian American women in higher education who have made significant contributions to their profession and community. The award will be presented at the College on June 13.

Community Involvement

The Performing Arts Department and Campus Players, in conjunction with the Suffern Junior Women's Club, raised $7,035 from the benefit performance of the spring musical, “Grease.” The money raised went to benefit Carter's Club and the fight against Juvenile Diabetes. Patty Maloney-Titland, Professor, Performing Arts, is the coordinator of Performing Arts.

More than 50 College students, faculty and staff participated in the County-Wide Food Drive (April 25) that was held at eight supermarkets. Two tons of food were delivered to People to People, a county-wide charity based in Nanuet that supplies food, clothing and other items to those in need.

More than 60 students, faculty, staff and community members volunteered for the Great American Cleanup event at the College. Volunteers helped pick up litter along a 1.9-mile stretch of College Road between Route 59 and Viola Road, which the RCC Environmental Club recently adopted through the county's Adopt-a-Road program. Approximately 30 bags of trash and 10 bags of recyclables were gathered. RCC's cleanup was part of a larger county-wide Great American Cleanup effort sponsored by Keep Rockland Beautiful (April 18).

One hundred and nine people, mostly students, turned out to donate blood for the Student Government Association's (SGA) Blood Drive (March 24). There were 71 units of blood donated and 38 deferrals. The Blood Drive Committee was chaired by Travis Smith, Vice President of SGA. Debra Balestra, Director of Student Involvement, is the SGA advisor.


Lena Hyun, adjunct faculty, Art History, was invited by SUNY Geneseo's Director of Galleries to curate an art exhibit for Asian Heritage Month. "Mind+Matter: Aspects of the Scholar's Garden," presented work by visual artists, Sho Araiba ‘05 and Stephen Churchill, Instructor, Computer Assisted Design, at the Lockhart Gallery (March 27 - April 11, Geneseo, NY). See: Hyun also served as one of three jurors for the SUNY Spring Exhibition at the SUNY Plaza Art Gallery, Albany, NY. More than a hundred student artworks were reviewed for inclusion in the Best of SUNY show at the NY State Museum this summer.


Dr. Haim Elisha, Professor, Performing Arts, was a guest pianist with the Ehran Elisha Ensemble (New York, NY, April 26).


Reamy Jansen, Professor, English, now blogs for two poetry websites, 32 Poems and Best American Poetry. His collection of essays about fathers and sons has been accepted for publication by the Authors’ Collective, Hamilton Stone Editions.

Carol Bierman, adjunct faculty, English, recently signed a contract with Scholastic, Inc, for the manuscript of a new book, which tells the true story of Bronia Rubin Brandman, a child survivor of Auschwitz. Her first book, Journey to Ellis Island, will be reissued in its fourth printing in August 2009.


During the ‘08 – ‘09 school year, 126 RCC students were accepted into the Alpha Phi Sigma chapter of Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society. They will be honored during the annual induction ceremony (May 7, 6:30 p.m.). The faculty advisor for Phi Theta Kappa is Elyse Fuller, Instructor, Science. The new members include Caitlin A. Ahrens, Jake Matthew Allyne, David John Angeles, Christina Gloria Autiero, Joshua Israel Bareket, Heather Gail Bella, Tyler E. Ben-Jacob, Patrick John Berquist, Joanna Marie Berry, Devon Christopher Beuschel, Lauren Miriam Bonayer, Steven Frank Branda, Michael Cacciola, Alyson Rachel Caloras, Renee Frances Campolongo, Chloe M. Cannon, Daniel Capasso, Tabitha Gaye Champeau, Chulsoon Chang, Ke Yan Chen, Laura Ashley Ciccone, Alana Cohen, Rachel Conway, Susan A. W. Covello, Michael C. D’Alisera, Melissa D’Altilio, Jessica Dohanyos, Alexandra Eve Exner, Noah C. Feinstein, Christopher Vincent Felico, Yue Feng, Lindsey R. Ferestien, Jacqueline Finch, Pamela Flanagan, Gecile Fojas, Paola Garcia Cardenas, Sheela George, Maria Gliemann, Dov Gold, Samantha Brooke Gomberg, Jamila Olivia-Amadi Grampus, Jenna Greco, Lahna Greene, Tatiana Grilo, Katrina Hapke, Erin Hardy, Sonya Harum, Corey Thomas Hewitt, Rachel Hirshfeld, Rachael Hoffman, Tova Rifka Horowicz, Laila Hussein, Darryl Hutchinson, Xu Fei Jiang, Ashley Nicole Kardian, Honey T. Katzman, Gurjot Kaur, Zahir W. Khalid, Miriana Kloke, Kristen Michele Kowalski, Adam Krakowsky, Eric Laitman, Brianna Talia Lalji, Maria Lavrinenko, Pritti Sacheta Liberace, Susan List, Philip Primo LoCascio, Jessica Ann Lupi, Jonathan Louis Mallon, Joshua Mann, Christina Marder, Purvi B. Marfatia, Vincent Michael Marinelli, Joshua Markowitz, David E. Mateo, Joshua Pathil Mathew, Chloe Jennifer Maybruch, Samantha T. McGarry, James Michael McQuade, Anthony J. Milio, Patricia Monroe, Helen Pamela Montchal, Sneha Mary Monzy, Kristen Marie Moore, Jerika Home Morris, Andrew Charles Newmark, Ana Nikolic, Anna Notley, Alissa Beth Novick, Oghenemase Christabel Oghenechovwen, Dannen Marie O’Keefe, Yehudah Pardo, Claudia Pinto, Alexandra Alise Prestano, Sajesh Dushyant Reyes, Matthew Ryan Reynolds, Michael Anthony Rizzo, Joseph Christopher Ross, Meir Y. Rotbard, Mark Rubin, Joseph N. Russo, Jaclyn Sayegh, Christina Schiller, Cody Daniel Schlaff, Paul Schulman, Ziv Schwartz, Patricia Scobey, Jason Scretching, Seamchou Seng, Nelya Shyman, Sukhjit Singh, Travis Nathan Smith, Yulie Sokolsky, Maria Belen Soraire, Janet Theresa Spagna, Jessica Ann Stier, Kelly Stritmater, Brian Patrick Stritmater, Dovi Sturm, Mark K. Svensson, Kimberley M. Taffner, Tomasz Tyka, Matthew David Ullnick, Dimitri Maxime Vital-Herne, Sarah Wolk, and Kelly Margaret Yuill.