Personal tools
Log in


September 2007 Achievements


Dr. Cliff L. Wood, President, along with actress Ellen Burstyn, will be honored with the Helen Hayes MacArthur Award at the annual Helen Hayes Hospital Gala, a benefit for the physical rehabilitation hospital. The Gala is held annually to honor the achievements of individuals who help and inspire other people to live their lives to their fullest potential. Past recipients include John McLoughlin, Montel Williams, Christopher Reeve, Rosie O’Donnell, Dikembe Mutombo, Lily Tomlin, Arthur Ashe, John Hockenberry, and Edward James Olmos. (Sat., Nov. 3, Pearl River Hilton, Pearl River, New York).

Peter Arvanites, Professor, Mathematics, was nominated by a student to be included in the 11th edition of the publication, "Who's Who Among American Teachers and Educators" (published in July).

Dr. Laurie Miller McNeill, Director of Grants Development, was chosen by the Retired and Senior Volunteer Program Advisory Board and staff to receive the Spirit of RSVP award at the annual Volunteer Recognition Luncheon (Nov. 7, Platzl Brauhaus, Pomona).

Impulse, the student literary magazine, placed second in the Eastern Region of the Community College Humanities Association (CCHA) Literary Annual Magazine competition for 2007. This is the seventh year Impulse has placed. The 2007 issue was jointly edited by students John Amer, President, and Sreenath Vemuri, Vice President. David Pirell, adjunct faculty, Art, and his staff, students Earl Ricci and Laurie Homicki, ran production and design. Reamy Jansen, English Professor, is Impulse advisor.


The Board of Trustees approved the appointment of Dr. Nathaniel Holmes to the administrative position of Director of the Office of Disability Services. He will be starting at the College on October 15.

Angelo Parra, adjunct faculty, Performing Arts, was appointed to the position of Outlook Student Press Faculty Adviser.

Nilda Aragones, Councilor, Associate Professor, Counseling Center, was selected to participate in Leadership Rockland, an educational program, whose mission is to identify, inform and inspire leaders to better serve Rockland County by increasing their awareness of the many facets of the county.

Renee Pereira-Jersey, Purchaser II, Purchasing, was appointed to the Village of Airmont's Quality of Life Committee. The Quality of Life Committee is an advisory panel to the Airmont Board of Trustees that investigates resident issues that affect quality of life. The committee's scope has included items such as sound barriers for residents near the thruway, traffic safety concerns, code enforcement and area beautification.

Lorraine J. Glynn, Director of Admissions, has been named to SUNY Admissions Advisory Committee to review admissions procedures throughout SUNY.


Wendy Greenspan, MSN, RN, CCRN, Instructor, Nursing, completed her master’s degree in Nursing Education from Mercy College (August ’07).


Dr. David Beisel, Coordinator and Professor, Social Sciences, presented a scholarly paper at the Thirtieth Annual Convention of the International Society of Political Psychology on "Pearl Harbor: Trauma and Traumatic Reenactment in Postwar Politics" (July, Portland, Oregon).

Wilma Frank, Professor and Coordinator of Speech, was the featured speaker at the 45th Anniversary Luncheon of the Hunter College Alumni Association (Sept. 25). Her topic covered theories on the origin of language: “In the Beginning There Was the Word!?”