Personal tools
Log in


July / August 2007 Achievements

Publications and Exhibits

Collette Fournier, adjunct faculty, Art and Educational Support Specialist, Campus Communications, will exhibit photographs from her recent West African trip in the 14th Annual Juried "Small Matters of Great Importance" show at the Edward Hopper Art Center in Nyack (September 1-23, artist's reception September 8).

Pearson Custom Publishing published a supplementary booklet, "Successful Immigrants in Business," edited by Martin Lecker, Ed.D., Professor, Business, and written by eight of his students from Pluralism and Diversity (PDA 101 and PDA 110) classes last spring. It will be used in the PDA 110 (PDA in Business and Industry) course this fall. The students are: Daiga Simanska, Theresa C. Rangel, Rhia Tolentino, Andrew Canariato, Stephanie Santiago, Gisele Da Silva Junqueira, Elizabeth Cardelli, and Peggy A. Manitaras. The publication will be incorporated into the College PDA curriculum and packaged with Lecker’s text, "Multicultural Readings in Business and Industry."

English Professor Reamy Jansen’s new short story, “Sand,” appeared in Hamilton Stone Press 12 (Summer, 2007).

Sarah Levy, Access Services Librarian and Xi Shi, Librarian, coauthored a book, “Information Literacy for Learners of the Information Age,” which was released by Thomson Press.


The Rockland Community College Board of Trustees approved the following promotions: Robert Axelrod, Professor, Speech; Don Iannucci, Professor, Art; Donna Peters, Professor, Nursing; Lynn Aaron, Associate Professor, Computer Studies Program; Jeanette Geller, Associate Professor, Computer Networking; Ian Newman, Associate Professor, English; Maureen Brown, Assistant Professor of Academic Intervention; Patricia Zodda, Assistant Professor of Physical Education.


The Rockland Community College Board of Trustees approved the appointment of the following individuals to the tenure track position of Instructor: Shamika Mitchell, English; Josephine Coleman, Business; Wendy Greenspan, Nursing; Kathleen Hopkins, Nursing; Dale Crispell, Nursing; Dr. Melanie Rie, Biology; Dr. Kristopher Baker, Biology, G. William Baitzel, Coordinator, Automotive Technology.

The Board of Trustees also approved the appointment of Pamela Gerstheimer to the administrative position of Coordinator of Study Abroad, and Lilia Juele to the administrative position of Director of Distance Learning and Instructional Technology.

Division Chairs and Coordinators appointed for the 2007-2008 academic year:

Division Chairs:

Sr. Marie Buckley, Math, Natural and Health Sciences

Nicole Hanaburgh, Business Information and Technologies, Professor, Electrical Technology

Liya Li, Ph.D., Center for Excellence in Teaching and Learning, Associate Professor of English

Ian Newman, Humanities, Social and Behavioral Science, Associate Professor, English


Peter Andryuk, Instructor/Coordinator, Paramedic Program/Emergency Medical Services Coordinator

Mr. G. William Baitzel, Instructor/Coordinator, Automotive Technology

Mara-Lee Bierman, Coordinator and Professor, Foreign Languages

Isabel Cadenas, Coordinator and Assistant Professor, Science

Richard Connolly, Coordinator and Assistant Professor, Communication/Media Arts

William Engelbracht, Coordinator, Criminal Justice and Fire Protection Technology, and Associate Professor, Criminal Justice

Wilma Frank, Coordinator and Professor, Speech

Jeanette Geller, Coordinator, Computer Studies, Computer Networking, Electronic and Computer Technology, and Computer Assisted Design and Associate Professor, Computer Networking

Sheila Goldstein, Coordinator and Professor, English Skills

Emily Harvey, Coordinator and Professor, Art (Fall 2007 only)

Kimberly Kohlhausen, Coordinator and adjunct faculty, English

Dorothea (Cookie) Lever, Coordinator and Associate Professor, Nursing

Robert Ludwig, Coordinator and Professor, Mathematics

Patti Maloney-Titland, Coordinator and Associate Professor, Performing Arts

Donna Peters, Nursing Coordinator and Professor

Catherine Roche, Coordinator and Associate Professor, Business and MgD

Bonnie Rosen, Coordinator and Associate Professor, Life Skills

Martha Rottman, Coordinator, ESL and Assistant Professor, English

Jim Sherrier, Coordinator, Professor Emeritus, Psychology

Susan Solomon, Coordinator, Hospitality, Professor, Hospitality and Tourism

Debra Tietze, Coordinator, Teacher Ed, Professor, Early Childhood Education

Deborah Vinecour, Paralegal Program Coordinator and Professor

Emil Willis, Coordinator and Professor, Physical Education


Donna Peters, Nursing Coordinator and Associate Professor, was the commencement speaker at the Rockland BOCES LPN Graduation (June 16, West Nyack).

Mara-Lee Bierman, Professor/Coordinator of Foreign Languages, served as the keynote speaker for the Celebration of Languages Conference. All of the high schools in Rockland County participated in the conference that promoted cultural diversity and the continued study of foreign languages (May).

Ellen Spergel, Retired Professor, Occupational Disabilities, Coordinator, Disability Services, served on a panel about career decision making at the Rockland County Guidance Center. She spoke about occupational therapy and other health careers (July 25th).

Elaine M. Toia, Ph. D., Associate Professor, English, presented her paper, "Mirror, mirror: Narcissism and Edith Wharton's Heroines," at the Fifth International Conference on New Directions in the Humanities (Paris, July 17-20).


Nursing students were recognized in the Journal News (July 13) as one of the top WalkAmerica teams for the annual March of Dimes Walk (April 29). This was the community project for third semester nursing students in NUR 231-maternal newborn Nursing. Jeanne Linhart RN, MSN, FNP,C., Professor of Nursing.


International Performing Arts student, Kaoru Miyauchi, was selected as a First Prize Winner in the 2007 Bradshaw & Buono International Piano Competition. She is scheduled to perform at Carnegie Hall (New York City, October 14).

Robin Hayman, Early Admit student, received the Eleanor Burlingham Award for environmental conservation. The $1,000 award is given annually to a high school senior who has demonstrated significant interest in the environment. Hayman, a member of RCC’s Organic Gardening Club and an Earth Day participant, converted his diesel burning 1987 Mercedes Benz 240 sedan into a vegetable oil powered machine.


Fifteen students completed the Emergency Medical Services Paramedic program, earning 56 credits and completing 600 hours of clinical internships, which included observing and assessing patients in hospital emergency rooms, Intensive Care Units, Critical Care Units, OB/GYN services, and operating rooms. They are now eligible to take the New York State Certifying Exam and the National Registry Certifying Exam. The students are: Lawrencia Ayisibea, Andrew M. Blumemfeld, Brian P. Cancellieri, Anthony Esposito, John Ferrante, Justin Gelband, Matthew Gullo, Connor A. Harding, Amanda A. Kuchta, Amanda L. McCormack, Patrick J. McKiernan, Stephen R. Nearbore, Christie M. Ohlendorf, Andrew Tarasoff, and Brenda Vazquez. At the August 14 graduation ceremony, Legislators Edwin J. Day and Gerold M. Bierker presented special awards to Anthony Esposito, who distinguished himself as the outstanding student by achieving didactic clinical field internship and professional excellence, and Stephen R. Neabore, who distinguished himself for academic excellence by achieving and maintaining the highest grade point average.