Personal tools
Log in

Skip to content. | Skip to navigation



RCC Scholarships for New Students

RCC Scholarships for New Students

Scholarship Winners

DATE: May 26, 2016
CONTACT: Maralin Roffino
845 -574-4244

RCC Scholarships for New Students

Suffern: Rockland Community College Foundation Scholarships for new RCC students are now open to applicants online

Approximately $46,000 in scholarship awards are available for new students starting RCC in Fall 2016. Interested students should apply for admission now - the deadline for scholarship applications is July 1, and students must already be accepted into the College in order to apply for scholarships.

Scholarships for New Students

Discover what makes RCC the right choice for you at

At the May 9 RCC Foundation Scholarship Awards Ceremony, continuing and graduating RCC students were awarded a total of approximately $190,000 to fund their continued studies. The largest scholarship, a full-two-year Pace University-Jane Cohen Memorial Scholarship, was awarded to Julian Vega, who plans to earn his bachelor’s and continue to law school and a career in constitutional/civil rights law. A new $1,000 scholarship honoring former RCC Trustee Dr. Sonya Shapiro was awarded to each of the following: Amir A-Ali, Tzvi Farkas, Kristen Klingle, Danuta Ksiazek, and James Santiago.

The RCC Foundation awards more than $350,000 in student scholarships each year, totaling about $4 million since the Foundation began. Awards are based on specific criteria that may include: academic achievement, athletic or artistic talents, member of an underrepresented group, high school attended, and demonstrated financial need.


RCC Foundation Scholarship Awards Ceremony for Graduating and Continuing Students Photo credit: Collette Fournier/RCC

1. Student Government Scholarship
Tjok Rai Arsa Artha, Amanda Hauburger, Benjamin Heuberger, Betzy Garcia, Zachary Birnbaum

2. Rockland Business Women’s Scholarship
Lauren Murray (representing the RBW), Sidra Ijaz

3. Bernice Plummer Memorial Shakespeare Scholarship
Dir. CAC Theater Christopher Plummer, Joseph Cobb

4. Pace University – Jane Cohen Memorial Scholarship
Melanie Morales-Woo (representing Pace University), Julian Vega

5. Humanities Transfer Scholarship
Prof. Martha Rottman, Stacey St. Hilaire

6. Veterans Scholarships
Leo Antony, Pres. Cliff L. Wood, Benot Rousseau, Jonathan Barnwell (Coordinator of Veterans Affairs), James Santiago, Daniel Greeley, Jermaine Mitchell, Rebekah Stanford

7. Accounting Scholarship
Zhanna Trachuk, Prof. Josephine Coleman

Share |