Personal tools
Log in


Resolution 18 - 2020

Rockland Community College Board of Trustees Approved 5/28/20 EH

Date: May 28, 2020 To: Board of Trustees From: Dr. Michael A. Baston, President Subject:Approval of candidates for Professor Emeritus/Emerita Status


A motion by Trustee Leonard, second by Trustee Donnellan, and

WHEREAS, The current policy regarding Conferral of Professor Emeritus/Emerita Status states that the candidate for Professor Emeritus/Emerita must be or must have been a Full Professor; and

WHEREAS, Candidates will be judged upon the following criteria:

  1. Length of service to the institution
  2. Excellence in performance of assigned professional responsibilities
  3. Participation in campus-wide collegial activities
  4. Community service
  5. Service in one's profession; and

WHEREAS, These criteria will be applied to individuals over the course of their entire careers and not exclusively to the last few years of service; and

WHEREAS, The nominating committee of full professors has reviewed the candidates and made recommendations to the Executive Vice President and Provost; and

WHEREAS, Based upon the nominating committee's recommendations, the Executive Vice President and Provost recommends the approval of eligible candidates; and

WHEREAS, The President endorses these recommendations; and

WHEREAS, SUNY guidelines for those with the SUNY Distinguished Professor rank states "Consistent with campus policy, all Distinguished Faculty will be accorded Emeritus status upon retirement," the following individuals will also formally receive the title of faculty emeritus/emerita:

Dr. Elaine Padilla
Prof. Maire Liberace

therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Rockland Community College Board of Trustees approves the conferral of Professor Emeritus/Emerita Status upon the following candidates:

Prof. Mara-Lee Bierman
Prof. Sister Marie Buckley
Dr. Heim Elisha
Prof Joseph Famellette
Prof Emile Feldman (posthumous)
Prof Terri Kaye-Needle
Prof Morty Leifer (posthumous)


Yeas: Trustees Wortendyke, Rand, Dillon, Valentine, Donnellan, Eckert, Hilowitz, Ramos and Leonard
Nays: none
Motion passed: 9 yeas, 0 nay, 0 abstentions
May 28, 2020