Personal tools
Log in


April 2011 Achievements

Faculty Achievements

Patty Maloney-Titland, Chair, Performing Arts Department was presented with the Arts Council of Rockland Award for Arts Educator of the Year.

Director of the Writing Center, Katherine Lynch PhD, was selected to participate in the pre-conference workshop for the International Society of Anglo-Saxonists Biennial Conference in Madison, WI. The topic of the workshop is, “Making (and Theorizing) the Early Medieval Book.” The conference will run from July 31 through August 6, 2011.

Kathleen Hopkins, MA, RN and Instructor of Nursing, was published as reviewer for the fifth edition of Judith Wilkinson's book, Nursing Process and Critical Thinking.

Professor Emily Dennis Harvey, Art, will present Edward Hopper: Poet of Light, at the Suffern Free Library on April 29, and Edward Hopper and the Painters of American Realism, on May 6. On June 5, she will present Edward Hopper: Poet of Light at the Piermont Public Library.

Tanya Drake, MSN, RN, Professor, Nursing has been appointed to a two year term on the Bylaws Committee of the American Nurses Association. The national organization represents the interests of the nation's 3.1 million registered nurses. The ANA fosters high standards of nursing practice and lobbies Congress and regulatory agencies on health care issues. As a member of the Bylaws Committee, Professor Drake will attend the ANA's Bi-Annual Convention in Washington, DC in 2012.

Cathlene Cruz, Director of Liberty Partnerships Program, Student Development Division, presented for Long Island University Rockland Graduate Campus (Orangeburg) on Monday, March 7 on the topic, "Bullying from a Parents Perspective."

Student Excellence

RCC Computer Programming Students, Robert Lee of Nanuet and Justin Okamoto of Valley Cottage, took first place at the Second Annual Community College Computer Programming Contest at Pace University in Pleasantville, NY on April 2. Both are students in the Computer Studies Program. Their coach is Lynn Aaron.

Rotary Club presented their 75th Anniversary "International Service Award" to two Rockland Community College students, Marvin Mathew and Stan Morodokhin, representing the Water Justice Alliance.

Outlook Student Press placed in six categories and won a total of eight awards at the Society of Professional Journalist's Mark of Excellence Awards. The awards and their respective winners are listed below. Outlook has won a total of nine awards this year.

Outlook Student Press Best All-around Non-Daily Student Newspaper – Second Place.

Editorial Cartooning - First place - Susanna Perlov

Feature Writing- First place - Lindsay Buteux

Third place- Susanna Perlov

General News Reporting - Third place - Susanna Perlov

In-Depth Reporting - Second place - Joshua Blachorsky

Third place- Elchanan Heller

Photo Illustration - Second place - Ian Mauro

In the Community

A special thanks to all the RCC people who participated in the 7th Annual American Cancer Society College Relay for Life: Student Captains Nancy Henriquez and Ariel Lopez; Dr. Cliff L. Wood, President; Dan Keeley, Athletic Director/Arena Management; Kevin Hanlon, Assistant Athletic Director/Arena Management; Patti Zodda, Assistant Professor Physical Education, Emil Willis; Professor Physical Education, Erik Ellingsen, Fitness Coordinator/Intramural Director; Melanie Rie, Science Instructor & (Madison and Brenden Rie); Lisa Schachter, Assistant Professor, Nursing; Kathy Hopkins, Nursing Instructor & (Brenden Hopkins); Diane Swick and John Marra, Student Involvement/Student Development Division; Kristin Ellingsen and Lindsey Doolittle, Volleyball Coaches; Student Government Association, Student Activities Board, Community Involvement Committee, RCC Physical Education Students.

The NYS Small Business Development Center at RCC received an additional $224,000 Federal grant to expand delivery of services to small businesses in the region. The RCC SBDC has been serving area entrepreneurs and small businesses since 1987, helping to bring the college more directly into the business community.