Personal tools
Log in

Skip to content. | Skip to navigation


May 2007 Achievements

May 2007 Achievements

College Wins Awards

Rockland Community College was chosen for the 2007 Regional Commuter Choice Outstanding Achievement Award for its free evening shuttle bus service launched in the Fall of 2006 between the main campus and the College extension centers in Spring Valley and Haverstraw. The New York Metropolitan Transportation Council, in collaboration with the Metropolitan Mobility Network and MetroPool, Inc., will recognize the College for taking this significant step to help reduce traffic congestion and to improve the air quality in Rockland County. (June 14, 10 a.m., Palisades Center, Raso Community Room, Level 4).

The College’s Technology Center received the Tappan Zee Award (Project of the Year) from the American Society of Civil Engineers for setting the mark for excellence in the civil engineering profession (Nyack, May 10th).


Sloatsburg mayor Carl S. Wright sent a letter of commendation to President Cliff L. Wood about Frank Circelli, Custodian III. Circelli is also the Village of Sloatsburg's Court Officer. According to the mayor, “As the court session was coming to a close, an individual took out a firearm and discharged it. Officer Circelli, without hesitation and reservation for his own health and safety, disarmed the suspect. This was reflection of his devotion to duty, training, expertise and strength of character. As a result of his actions, lives were saved!”

Andrew T. Jacobs, Professor of Speech, was the guest speaker at the Cornell Forensics Society banquet at Cornell University (April 29). His topic was, “The Importance of the Spoken Word.” He also delivered a lecture entitled, “The Feminist Tool-Kit” as part of RCC’s CETL lecture series on Human Diversity and Pedagogy (April 12).

Guzide Kobati, adjunct faculty, Foreign Languages, was accepted into the Georgetown University summer program, "Arabic Teacher Training Seminar."

Two employees of St. Barnabas Hospital with ties to the College were honored. Agnes Lucero, hourly professional, Nursing, and Critical Care Educator, St. Barnabas, was nominated for Nurse Leader of the Year, and Hiromi Iida, ’02 and ’04, was nominated for Novice Nurse of the Year. They were honored at the hospital’s 4th Annual Nurse of Distinction Awards dinner (Hilton New York, May 8).

An article about ergonomics, “The Human Factor," by Marie Morreale, adjunct faculty, Occupational Therapy, was published in the April 2007 issue of ADVANCE for Directors in Rehabilitation.

Saeed Safaie, Professor, Science, and the Rockland Astronomy Club, organized the Northeast Astro-Imaging Conference at the College (April 26-27). Attendees were able to meet and learn from the leading experts in astronomical imaging.

James Salvadon ‘90, Instructor of Mathematics; Melissa Roy, Equity & Compliance/Affirmative Action Officer; and Beverly Jackson, Director of Spring Valley Center, co-presented "Career Opportunities in Various Fields" to high school students at the National Pan Hellenic Council of Rockland County Careers Conference. (Nyack High School, April 21). They discussed career opportunities in IT, education, and engineering as well as keys to success in college.

Linda Schrank, Professor/Coordinator, ESL, was honored at the Kappa Delta Pi International Honor Society in Education induction ceremony as a Master/Mentor Teacher (Student Union, May 17). Schrank began her teaching career by being inducted into Kappa Delta Pi while still in college. Several decades later, after exemplary dedication and service to the profession, she ends her career with special recognition from RCC’s Kappa Delta Pi chapter.

Keith Walters, adjunct faculty, English, led a lecture/discussion about Tom Wolfe's novel, "Bonfire of the Vanities" (May 21, Monroe Free Library).


Thirteen students were inducted into the Kappa Delta Pi International Honor Society in Education (Student Union, May 17). Students inducted: Jennifer Baxter, Thomas Buckenberger, Michelle Buffardi, Collette Burts, Diana De Bold, Pamela Florio, Nathalie Garfunkel, Catherine Hammond, Daniel Hernandez, Nicole Higgins, Elizabeth Hogue, Jennifer Lewis, and Maria Torres.

An inkjet print, "Essence of Jamal," by student Dominique Consolo was featured on the cover of the brochure for the Spring SUNY Student Art Exhibit. Also on the view at the exhibit were the works of students Kyle Harris, Indira Velasquez, Margaret Plachy and Hong Chan (Feb-April, State University Plaza Gallery, Albany).

Five RCC students took home first prize in their category at the 15th annual Beacon Conference for Student Scholars (June 1). The winners were chosen based on the quality and originality of the research, written work, and oral presentation. Prizes of $100 were awarded to each winning student as well as their faculty mentor. Winners: Ori Bensimhon, Literature I Shakespeare, Mentor: Dr. Elaine Toia, Associate Professor, English; Igor Nikolskiy, Science I, Mentor: Dr. George Krasilovsky, Professor, Science; Hannah Rice, Science II, Mentor: Dr. Tom Butler, Professor, Science; Roxana Bartolome, Literature III Various Genres, Mentor: Dr. Cliff Garner, Professor, English; Colleen Chisolm, The Arts, Mentor: Dr. Nancy Hazelton, Professor, English.

Nursing graduates who were recognized for special achievement at the Nurses Pinning Ceremony (May 21): Kelly King, Rockland Psychiatric Center Award; Nicole Marie Karell, Helen Hayes Award; Ruth Sternfield, Nyack Hospital Award; Brigitte Weinberg, Good Samaritan Hospital Award; Monika Chmielewski, Geraldine Jackson Award; Oksana G. Sackaris, LPN to RN Achievement Award; Kim Mihok-Wade, SUNY RCC Department of Nursing Faculty Award; Marie C. Francois, Monteith-Clayton Award; Marilou Antonio, District 17 Award. Student Nurses Association (SNA) Participation/Leadership Awards: Marilou Antonio, Annmarie Connell, Lemec Joseph, Kelly King, Monika Chmielewski, Marie Osline Domond, Deborah Jansen, Nicole Marie Karell.

Students who took steps to improve the quality of the RCC community through participation in causes, clubs, or organizations, were recognized at the Outstanding Student Service Awards Ceremony (May 10). Outstanding Student Service Awards were granted to: Vanessa Albert, Stanlin Alexander, Vanessa Alvarez, Jacob Andrews, Marilou Antonio, Jennifer Argenti, Christopher Arnowich, Michael Aspinall, Roxana Bartolome, Christine Booth, Joanna Broussard, Kaselda Buckley, James Byrne, Chelsea E. Carbone, Jamie Caridi, Keonda Clark, Brittany Cohen, Mariel Consagra, Christina Conte, Shayna Cornelius, Karolyn Cruz, Korym Cruz, Ashley Dawson, Steven Diaz, Lauren Didrichsen, Lashay Dorsett, Joshua Eccher, Emma Ewusi, Chris Facciola, Kirk Fairclough, Richard Faison, Taisha Furman, Doug Galli, Jennifer Garcia, Shanel George, Ariel Gerson, Ray Gizzi, Alex Gomberg, Dan Gonzalez, Kristi Griffith, Matt Hill, Janine Jackson, Devika Jagnanan, Clara Jean, Gracious John, Justy John, Jubin Joseph, Natalie Joseph, Deon Kaura, Michael Kulesza, Mike Lacondi, Thomas Lam, Naomi Louis Charles, Peggy Manitaras, Sosthene Mars, Benjamin Mathew, Petrica Mauritzen, Alicia McDonald, Matthew Michel, Ian Mirsky, Joseph Monge, Danielle Morgan, Brittney Narcisse, Yuki Nitta, Alfred Nyarko, Yvonne Oloo, Ogwa Onogwuo, Gina Pachlin, Libin Panaparambi, Mrundai Patel, Jennifer Pierre, Timothy Purcell, Juan Quise, Marco Riccoboni, James Rist, Alison Rivera, Melissa Rivera, Josh Roberts, Nava Rosenrauch, Olsen Saint Louis, Rinu Samuel, Roshaun Samuel, Christina Schandel, David Schwartz, Saharah Sejaer, Hardeep Singh, Vershawn P. Smallwood, Khareen Sterling, Angela Stuma, Nicole Taffe, Tiffany Taffe, Ami Takisawa, Susan Toscano, Melissa Vacek, Diego Velasques, Srinath Vemuri, Aaron White, Craig Williams, Tanisha Witter, Jessica Wright and Jonathan Zisser.

Share |