Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Personal tools
You are here: Home About Diversity at RCC We Celebrate Diversity

We Celebrate Diversity

Rockland Community College is built on a heritage of excellence and diversity. Throughout the academic year, the College offers the following celebrations of the diverse heritages present on campus.

 
 

Hispanic Heritage Month

 

International Thanksgiving Day

September - October

Hispanic Heritage Month, which is celebrated from September 15th to October 15th, is a period to recognize the contributions of Hispanic Americans in the United States.

For more information about the celebration of Hispanic Heritage Month at the College, contact Cathlene Cruz at ccruz@sunyrockland.edu.

 

November

International Thanksgiving Day, which is celebrated the week before the traditional American Thanksgiving Day, celebrates the multiculturalism of the College’s international students who come from all over the world.

For more information about the celebration of International Thanksgiving Day at the College, contact Maria Dell'Arciprete at mdellarc@sunyrockland.edu.

 

African American History Month

 

Women's History Month

February

African American History Month, which is celebrated during February, is the remembrance of important people and events in African American history.

For more information about the celebration of African American History Month at the College, contact Dana Stilley at dstilley@sunyrockland.edu.

 

 

March

Women’s History Month, which is celebrated during March, explores the changing role of women in society and the impact of that change on the world.

For more information about the celebration of Women’s History Month at the College, contact Christina Stern cstern@sunyrockland.edu and Kristie Morris at kmorris@sunyrockland.edu.

 

Irish Culture History Month

 

Jewish Heritage Month

March

Irish Culture History Month, is celebrated in March, is the celebration of the culture and heritage of Irish Americans.

For more information about the celebration of Irish Culture History Month at the College, contact Patti Maloney Titland at ptitland@sunyrockland.edu

 

March or April

Jewish Heritage Month, which is celebrated between the Jewish holidays of Purim and Passover, highlights Jewish heritage and culture.

For more information about the celebration of Jewish Heritage Month at the College, contact Tzipora Reitman at zreitman@sunyrockland.edu.

 

Holocaust Remembrance Day

 

Haitian Week

April or May

Holocaust Remembrance Day, which is celebrated after Passover and the College's Spring Break, is a tribute to the millions of Jews that died during the Holocaust.

For more information about the celebration of Holocaust Remembrance Day at the College, contact Rabbi Dov Oliver at doliver@sunyrockland.edu.

 

 

April

Haitian Week, which is celebrated during the last week of April, promotes Haitian heritage and culture.

For more information about the celebration of Haitian Week at the College, contact Elizabeth Solages at esolages@sunyrockland.edu.

 

Native American History Month

November

Native American History Month in November celebrates the culture, heritage and unique contributions of Native Americans to society.

For more information about Native American History Month, contact Michael Albin at malbin@sunyrockland.edu or Jill Lindner and jlindner@sunyrockland.edu.

 

 

Asian Pacific American Heritage Month

  

May

Asian Pacific American Heritage Month, which is celebrated during May, commemorates the contributions of people of Asian and Pacific Islander descent in the United States.

For more information about the celebration of Asian Pacific American Heritage Month at the College, contact Liya Li at lli@sunyrockland.edu.

  
 
Links
Document Actions