Tuition and Fees
Tuition and Fees
The schedule of tuition and fees is adopted annually by the Board of Trustees.
To be eligible for the resident tuition rate, students must meet one of the following requirements:
- Provide documentation of one year's legal residency in New York State and six months in Rockland County prior to the start date of the semester. Documentation must clearly demonstrate New York State residency for the year prior to the start of the semester and Rockland County residency for six months prior to the start of the semester.
- Provide a Certificate of Residency from another New York State county.
The Certificate of Residency is a form issued to the student by the county in which they reside verifying their place of residence. To qualify for a Certificate of Residency, students must have lived in NY State for the past 12 months. Residency is verified by the county in which they have lived for the six months prior to attending college. If they have lived in more than one NY State county during those six months, verification from each county will be required.
Note: A person does not acquire a New York State Domicile (Legal Residence) simply by being physically present in New York State for a period of 12 months or for the sole purpose of attending a New York State College or University. If your principal or permanent home has not been in New York State for a 12-month period immediately prior to the date you intend to enroll, you will be considered an out-of-state student for tuition purposes.
Any of the following is appropriate documentation of State and County legal residency:
- Duration of the student's physical presence in NY State
- State of residency of the student's family
- NYS driver's license or non-driver ID card
- NY State voter registration
- NY State motor vehicle registration
- NY State income tax returns
- NY State bank accounts
- Proof of ownership of NY State real property
- Residential lease for property
Certificate applications are available in the Bursar's Office and must be presented to the home county Treasurer's Office.
A new certificate must be submitted each year.
Certificate of Residency Links:
- Orange County: http://www.co.orange.ny.us/documentView.asp?docID=6
- New York City: http://www.comptroller.nyc.gov/bureaus/adm/Certificate_of_Residency.pdf
- Westchester: http://www.westchestergov.com/finance/CertResidenceMainPage.htm
- Out-Of-County -- New York State CORInstructions.html
Students on F(student), B(visitor), J(exchange), C, D, H2, H3, M, O2, P, Q, R or TN visas are not eligible for resident rate of tuition.
Persons holding a different immigration status should contact the Bursar at 574-4417.
Students who fail to present documentation will be charged non-resident tuition. It is the responsibility of the student, not the College, to prove residency.
All students must pay tuition and fees in full or provide credit authorization to the Bursar’s Office at the time of registration. The College reserves the right to cancel student schedules when payment is not received by published deadlines. Original schedules cannot be guaranteed for students who must re-register.
Failure to pay tuition may result in accounts being turned over to a collection agency and in students being barred from registering for the upcoming semester. Students will be responsible for all collection and litigation costs.
Senior Adult Audit Registration
New York State Education Law allows Rockland Community College to waive the cost of tuition for senior adults 60 years of age and older who wish to observe (audit) credit courses on a space available basis. Auditing students are responsible for lab and other fees associated with credit courses and are not permitted to register for contract courses. As observer, senior adults are not examined, graded, or given academic credit.
Senior adults do pay tuition for courses taken for credit. These include courses taken to satisfy professional requirements, to maintain credentials, or to meet continuing education requirements. Senior adults may also take credit-free courses through the Institute for Senior Education.
Student Obligation for Payment of Tuition and Fees
Students who fall into the following categories will be financially obligated to the College regardless of attendance:
- Students who fail to complete a College drop/add form within the refund period of the semester and who have remitted partial payment will be financially obligated to the College for the unpaid balance, regardless of attendance.
- Students whose tuition and fees are charged to financial aid awards at the time of registration, or who receive a deferment based on pending financial awards at the time of registration and who subsequently become ineligible for the financial aid (for any reason) will be liable for all funds due to the College, regardless of attendance.
- Students who remit payment for tuition and fees with a check that is returned unpaid (for any reason) become liable for the full amount of tuition and fees assessed.
The College will not dismiss or waive a debt created by a refund issued to a student based on financial aid when such aid is subsequently canceled or reduced.